More excellent news…

There has been some more excellent news this week too.

I had an appointment with the Consultant Oncologist who was in charge of my radiotherapy treatment last autumn. This was a routine follow-up appointment just to check on progress etc, but he is also part of a clinical team with my Haematologist, so has the fuller picture of what’s been happening over the last 6 or 7 months.

He gave me the usual prod and poke around the lymph sites in my neck, armpits and groin and I am pleased to say that he couldn’t find any swollen nodes at all. This means that the treatment is working. Which is, as I say, excellent news 🙂

“I never want to see you again”, he said, in the nicest possible way. To be honest, I never want to see him, either, but I am glad I met him.

Unfortunately, it’s not possible to feel the nodes in the abdomen area, so I may need to have a further CT scan after next week’s treatment to check on what’s been going on there. Furthermore, this doesn’t mean that I am cured.

What it does mean though is that, subject to attending for the maintenance treatment over the next two years, I can look forward to maybe 7 years before I need to have something similar.

I am quite pleased. Not that I ever doubted that this would work, of course.

Now, I’m going to have to think of something else to write about – I’ve enjoyed doing this blog over the last year or so – it’s good to write things down and very interesting (to me at least) to go back and read posts from a while ago. As I have said before, it seems a lot longer than it really has been – so much has happened really and it’s easy to forget what you’ve been through.

Oh, and England were woeful in the World Cup. Why am I not surprised?

11 thoughts on “More excellent news…”

Comments are closed.