Maurice Saatchi, cancer and innovation

As someone who might not even be here if it weren’t for people prepared to take risks, innovate, test, retest, lose battles, win battles and all the other cliché-ridden phrases used in the “fight” against cancer, I read with some dismay this piece in the Telegraph by Maurice Saatchi.

Without innovation we will never cure cancer

He is absolutely right. Innovation and free thought, unconstrained by the threat of litigation if something goes wrong, will find us closer to this futile goal. I don’t believe that we will ever cure “cancer”. Which cancer? There are hundreds of them, thousands, probably, and with an ageing population more and more of us are going to get it.

BUT, we will never even begin to get closer than we are without us all being prepared to take risks, either for ourselves, our patients or our fellow man.

If and when the time comes and I am asked to join a clinical trial for a new treatment, after some careful consideration, I am most likely to say “Yes”. I owe it to myself, my fellows who also live with this disease and those who are to come. But also to those who have gone before. The mustard gas victims  Those who were prepared to try new drugs and treatments before me – they are the ones to whom I owe the biggest debt.

As my blog title says, it’s “My turn this year”. One year it will be my turn to step forward and make my own contribution to this process.

Provided they are still allowed by law to innovate of course…

Please leave a reply

