But ‘Watching and waiting” no more

Nothing to worry about, but one thing that I forgot to mention when I updated recently on the meeting with the new Consultant was his view on ‘Watch and Wait’. This is a subject very close to my heart, as I have mentioned many times before. As I went through my history with him, I got to the end of the maintenance period and then said that I had gone back to ‘Watch and Wait’.

“Oh no, you are not on ‘Watch and Wait’ any longer.” he said, “You are now on ‘surveillance’ ”

It now seems that the waiting part only refers to the wait for your first symptoms and first treatment. Once you have had treatment, you are no longer waiting for it. As such, you are left with just the watching part, hence the new status of ‘surveillance’.

Semantics, I know. But, does it make any difference to the way that I feel about this current period in the process? No, not really. The waiting for something else to happen hasn’t suddenly disappeared; it is just no longer mentioned. Almost as if it’s being ignored, as if it’s unimportant. Which is a bit odd really, because that’s not how I feel about it.

Let’s see what happens after the CT scan. That might put things into a better perspective.

One thought on “But ‘Watching and waiting” no more”

  1. It my be ‘semantics’ to change what’s happening now to ‘surveillance’ but seems to me to be a more accurate description – best of luck Andy

Comments are closed.