Another new buddy link this week

The Lymphoma Association called me a couple of weeks ago asking whether I would be able to take on another buddy – a request to which I gladly said “Yes” – and my new contact phoned me on Tuesday. As with Buddy Nr 1, we had a really good chat and I am pleased to say that the feedback he has given the Association was very positive. It is interesting that I seem to be getting as much from these contacts as the people seeking a buddy and I regret not calling the Association and asking for a buddy myself when I was first diagnosed.

I have also been asked whether I would consider putting myself forward as a lay-member on a NICE Committee considering further issues relating to follicular NHL. This is something I would really like to be able to do. I enjoyed the small contribution I made a few years ago, when they were considering the use of Rituximab for first-remission maintenance and I think that I would have been able to make a positive contribution again. Unfortunately, they need people who are available in Cardiff every 4-6 weeks, for 18 months. There is no way that my employer would allow me so much time off work to do this, so I will have to set this aside, which is a shame.

Despite my “no looking back” policy, it is appropriate to look back just one year, to my son’s wedding. This time last year we were enjoying the wedding breakfast on a really wonderful day. So, Happy Anniversary to the still happy couple 🙂

Maybe at the end of the year I will allow myself a reflective post, looking back on a most remarkable 12 months.

And finally, I heard today that our multi-storey car park project in Blackpool has been shortlisted for The Lighting Design Awards 2014.  One of my goals for all of the projects there was to win some awards, so let’s hope that this is at least the first shortlisting of many. I need to get up there and take some more photographs of it in the evening now that it’s completed and open to the public so that I can record the lighting system in all its glory. It’s been a challenging project, but working with a good team, we have achieved a remarkable transformation of this old building. Time for another photo…

Car-park