Another 3 month visit comes and goes

Met with my consultant yesterday morning and had a very good chat about what the future might hold. Given that his name isn’t Madame Petrulengo, neither of us knew, but it was good to have a chat, regardless. What he did say was that he was very pleased with me. I’m not sure what I’ve done, but I’ll take that any day of the week. What he really means is that I am in as good a position with this as it is possible to be.

This was the first time I’d seen him since our phone call a couple of months ago, after the CT scan, and it was very useful to discuss the results face to face. As before, he said that he wasn’t a great fan of doing lots of CT scans, but I might be an exception. When my disease was first diagnosed, the bulk of it was in the abdomen, around the aorta, and behind several vital organs. It was large, bulky mass. But pretty well undetectable by any clinician. You can’t feel it behind the liver, stomach and all the other stuff.

Now, at present, the scans have shown that the disease is not detectable. But, if and when it does return, which is likely at some point, it will probably develop in the same space. What we don’t want is for it to get to the stage where it’s large and bulky and spreading to other areas again, the way it did the first time. Therefore, we agreed that a yearly CT scan would be a reasonable thing to do. The risks associated with the radiation has to be balanced with the benefit of being able to “see” the disease that cannot be felt manually. If the disease had been mainly in my neck, or groin, then this wouldn’t be recommended, but I’m happy to do this, given my circumstances.

I asked him when I could “look forward” to another bone marrow biopsy – probably the most uncomfortable treatment I have had to experience as part of this whole episode. There will be a blog post about it from the summer of 2009 if you’re interested. I was pleased to hear that this wouldn’t be necessary unless my blood tests showed that I was lacking in white blood cells and so far my bloods have all been fine.

Finally, after chatting about the Wirral, he asked to see me in four months time. This is also some progress from the three months I have been doing so far.

So, I can look forward to 2014 and all that holds, pretty confident that another round of biohazard in a vein isn’t part of the plan. 2013 has been a very good year in many ways. If 2014 continues in the same fashion, I will be a fortunate man indeed.

Oh, yes… If you were wondering how my Blackpool projects are getting on (I know you were), here are a couple of photos. Looking pretty good, I reckon.

20131219-201404.jpg

20131219-201445.jpg