It’s that end of December post again

I have just read through end of December posts from the last four years to see what humour I was in at the same time of the year. I have to confess that I don’t like New Year. I don’t like this period immediately after Christmas where the whole month, no the whole year, just seems to fall flat on its face. However, my posts have been pretty upbeat for the most part, I’d say, apart from in 2010 when Pippa had just died.

In 2009, I’d only just started out with this and was looking forward, as much as one can, to the thought of chemo in the New Year. In 2011, I was working through the maintenance and looking forward to starting in site with my Blackpool projects in 2012 and last year I was looking back on an eventful 12 months and forward to delivering the same projects.

So, how has 2013 been? It’s been a remarkable year, with events happening that I could never have predicted and which have changed my life. It’s one of those years where you can look back and say “Well, twelve months ago I never thought that would have happened!”

From a health point of view, obviously having the news that the disease is still in remission was the best I could have had and, to be honest, was unexpected. I have always tried to have my glass half full with this, but it can be difficult sometimes, so it’s good to know that the treatments have been working. However, I did get a copy of a letter that the consultant sent to me GP after the last consultation, which, while confirming the above, does refer to the scan “demonstrating fine nodularity within the retro peritoneum consistent with small sub-centimetre nodes measuring up to 0.6cm. ” Previously of course, I had been told that there is no clinical evidence of the recurrence of the lymphoma, but he did explain that the CT scan only resolves down to a certain level. It sounds like 0.6cm is about that level. How this differs from “clinical evidence” is something to ask next time, but the letter confirms that no residual disease can be identified upon examination. This has changed my outlook on the situation I find myself in no end.

From a work aspect, the multi-storey car park was eventually handed back to the Council after delays by the contractor. I need to thank everyone involved in the delivery of the car park for all their hard work, but especially our Contract Administrator, who has been very supportive throughout the year. Now, if we can just keep some of the cladding panels on the building in very high winds, I will be even happier!

The roads and services finished in the summer and have made a big difference to the traffic flows in this part of town as well as looking terrific. Again, a great team working very well together delivered the goods.

The Council Office will be finished in the first couple of months of 2014 and it will be great to have the Council moving into their new home in the spring.

And we have had a few trips this year too. Venice in March was as beautiful as always and it was great to be back on Islay again in the summer. Southern Germany was a real eye-opener and definitely a place to return to with more time to explore.

And what will 2014 deliver, apart from the completed office? I must get back to taking photographs again. I just haven’t got the motivation back that I lost before Germany and something needs to be done, especially before we go to Sorrento in 8 weeks time.
More of the same luck and good fortune that I have enjoyed in 2013, I hope of course. And more of the support of family, friends and colleagues that I have been so grateful for this past year.

As I said here in September, I just hope that I am repaying this love and support properly.

I wish everyone who reads this, a Very Happy New Year.

4 thoughts on “It’s that end of December post again”

Please leave a reply

