Anyone want to buy a tent?

I am getting lax about updating this blog.

That’s a good thing in itself, I suppose, as it was supposed to be a diary of my experiences with lymphoma and how I am dealing with it. If truth be told (and why not?), for the most part, I am doing pretty well on it. I don’t have much to add to the nearly five years of experiences already recorded here.

Now, that’s a thought. Five years. FIVE years. That was the lower end of my “life expectancy” or typical survival period when I was first diagnosed and I sat in front of the haematologist, although he suggested at that time that for younger people (like me) it would be 8-10 years. So that’s alright then.

But, that IS a thought…

But, we don’t need to think about things like that for very long as we are in full-on, glass half full mode here, of course. I am a-typical. The raw statistics do not apply to me. I am going to die with this, not of this. Sod you Dr Hodgkin, whether it’s your lymphoma or not.

It’s just that it does, inevitably, make you think and take a step back – again. One of those “take a step back and take stock”, steps back, not a “backward step” step back, but a pause for thought. When the five year anniversary comes round next month, I will open a bottle of fizz and think about what has happened over these five years and the support and love and kindness I have had from so many people in that time. I am a very lucky man.

OK. That’s that done. Since the last proper update, I have seen my consultant again and he was quite happy with me. And if he’s happy, I’m happy. I had thought that I could feel a swelling in my neck and my armpit, but he couldn’t so we can stop worrying about that. So that’s all good. He doesn’t want to see me again until August, so it looks as if we are now settling into a 4-monthly cycle, which obviously beats a 3-monthly one by a good month. So that’s all good too. The following one in December was when we had discussed another CT scan as an end of year report. We will see.

When I saw him, I mentioned the lymphedema in my right leg, my other constant companion these last five years. I told him that I was getting aches in that leg that I am sure are related to the condition, but he wasn’t too worried about that. I am, so I have a referral from my GP to a lymphedema clinic locally and will have an appointment to see them when they can be bothered to contact me. Apart from the radiotherapy years ago at the beginning of all this (which was never going to do any good, I have since found out)  I have not had anything done about this, so it’s about time I did.

The Forum Book is selling well and the first of the paper copies are finding their way into the hands of others. The feedback I have had so far has been very positive, so I look forward to making the first profit donation soon, just as soon as Blurb PayPal me the funds.

Still no word from the CAA, despite chasing emails. I wonder to whom one can complain about the CAA…?

So, what’s next to look forward to? There is a weekend in Edinburgh soon. No more Malmaison for us, as they are no longer dog-friendly, which is a shame, but at least the Holiday Inn Express nearby is, so we can still enjoy supper at The Shore. Then, there is a week in June in Cornwall, a part of England that we haven’t been to for over 20 years. Friends at work who go regularly reminded me of how beautiful it is, so this is the year. With a two week holiday coming up in October, unfortunately I can only spare only one week in the summer. I want to keep back some leave for the odd day off every now and again.

This was going to be a last hurrah camping trip, but we (or rather “I”) decided that we (“I”) maybe getting too old to sleep on the ground. We have never taken a dog camping before either and I can see that being a bit of an issue and the thought of driving down there and walking across a muddy field in the rain to have a shower, suddenly lost any attraction that it might have once had when the children were small and grubby. Plus, I would have had to buy some roof bars to fix the top-box to the car and a load of new kit for the tent (groundsheet, cooker parts etc) that the cost of renting a cottage soon loomed into view. “You know it makes sense”

So, a cottage in Cornwall it is.

Anyone want to buy a tent? 

Please leave a reply

