That end of December post – good news for Christmas

The year has a mere three hours left in it, so it’s time I did an end-of-year roundup.

I am pleased to say that I had a meeting with my consultant just before Christmas and the news from the CT scan at the beginning of December is extremely good. He and his colleagues still cannot see any recurrence of the disease, so it is very much steady as she goes now. I am 4 1/2 years into remission and all is going very well – so much so that my regular meetings with him have now been put onto a 6 monthly cycle, so I don’t need to see him until 10th June, just before I go on holiday. So that’s excellent news.

I have, however, had a pretty miserable Christmas holiday this year. I’d had a cough for a couple of weeks before Christmas and this turned into the flu over the Christmas period. I spent most of Christmas week in bed, which is a real pain, as it was the first time forever that the two of us had all of Christmas off. I’m afraid I wasn’t very good company and it was only a visit to the doctor who gave me some antibiotics that has allowed me to turn a corner this week. So, we didn’t get to go to the Lakes as planned on Christmas Day – we didn’t actually do anything. What a waste.

We do have a couple of days in Scotland to look forward to this weekend, so let’s hope that the weather is OK and I can get some photographs taken. Have taken only one photograph all Christmas.

Looking back over last year’s post, I’m afraid that I could repeat what I said then. I am not taking photos like I used to, but look forward to new opportunities next year. San Francisco is going to be a bit of an eye-opener, I suspect, but if past experience is anything to go by, won’t yield many photographs. Oh, who cares? It’s being there and enjoying oneself that’s important, not taking photographs of it.

Finally, as always, I need to thank everyone who continues to help and support me with their love and kindness and support throughout the year. You really do make a huge difference and of all the resolutions that I could make tonight, the one I will make is to try to never take anything or anyone for granted.

Thank you.

4 thoughts on “That end of December post – good news for Christmas”

Please leave a reply

