A return to the past and a visit to Parliament

I’m not sure that it’s ever a good idea to go back to the past, but on Saturday we went back to Parkgate for the first time since moving away last August.

After a visit to the joinery shop to order the French doors to the living room first thing, a trip to the tile shop in Chester was necessary to order some additional tiles for the floor of the entrance hall. We are going to use the spares that we have from the kitchen, but don’t quite have enough to cover the whole hall, so a few more are needed. Since it was lunchtime by the time we got over there, it was decided that lunch at The Marsh Cat might be a good idea.

It was very nice to eat there again and say hello and catch up with the folk there. We sat in the conservatory where we used to far too often in the past and watched the world and her husband pass by.

It is a nice place and we had a very good lunch. We even took half a bottle of their decent wine home – something that was remarked upon by the waitress. “I’ve never known you two to take half a bottle of wine away with you!” She said. “I’ve never driven here before” was my reply.

I have to say that I found it a bit emotional. I don’t miss living in the village at all. I don’t miss the house. But I do miss sitting in that chair, at that table. Just a bit. I wasn’t expecting to feel like that. And it is a bit sad that the only thing that I have missed is a restaurant, but we did visit often and enjoyed the food and the attention of the staff.

I’m not sure when it might be that we will go back, but I’m sure that won’t be the last time we make the effort.

The good thing is that the money that we haven’t spent there since moving will pretty much pay for our holiday in Norway in March. So that’s a good thing.

On other matters, we have had a quote for installing a new log burning fire and will try to organise that as soon as we can. The French doors will probably be delivered next week, but we will need to wait until the weather improves a bit for that work to be done. The Building Regulations process is being done properly this time! On a downside, with the incessant rain we have suffered over the last 6 weeks or so, a slight damp patch has appeared at ceiling level in the living room. It looks like this coincides with the bottom of a valley gutter, so it looks like I will be climbing onto the roof at the weekend, provided the bloody rain stops.

And finally for tonight, I have been invited to speak at a presentation on behalf of the Lymphoma Association in The Speaker’s House in the Houses of Parliament next Monday evening. It’s been a very long time since I have been there, so it should be interesting, especially given the audience. I might even buy myself a new suit at the weekend šŸ™‚