Some good news today

I saw my consultant this morning for my six monthly check-up. When I say “check-up”, I really mean 10 minute chat followed by him giving my nodes a grope and sending me on my way via the phlebotomist, who now recognises me and knows me by name without checking my notes.

Being recognised, while good, isn’t the good news.

The good news is that he gave me the choice of having or not having a CT scan at Christmas, as opposed to just telling me that’s what we would be doing on previous occasions. I chose not to, and he said that was a wise choice. In the US, I would be given a CT scan every visit, but that’s just so that they can spend the insurance money. Over here, even when it is done privately, consultants are a little more patient-centric rather than bank-balance focused. 2016 is therefore a significant year in my post-diagnosis world.

For the first time in eight years, I will not be having a CT scan this year.

The last year that I didn’t have one was 2008, which feels like a lifetime away. So much has happened (as evidenced by this blog…), but so much that is positive has come out of this whole experience. I explained to him that while I would never have chosen this to have happen, obviously, I am glad that it has. I have done things I wouldn’t have done, met people I wouldn’t have met and become a better person that I might have been had it just been a hernia all those years ago.

Here’s to this being the first of many years of not having to have CT scans. I give it two or three. (There’s me, not being able to quite take the good news at face value…)

Oh, and on other matters, I have decided to spend the “reward” funds for being with my company for 10 years on a dry stone walling course. If I can only get the blasted website there to work…

2 thoughts on “Some good news today”

Please leave a reply

