It’s been a long time

Well. It must be about 7 weeks since I last posted an update here. That hasn’t happened in the last 7 years, so I must be getting into a much more relaxed frame of mind about things.

The Orkney holiday is a dim and distant memory now, but there is a large canvas on the wall in the spare bedroom of the Ring of Brodgar as a reminder of a very good holiday. It is a long way there, though, but we made it back in one piece in two days, so that’s not too bad. Now, in August, everyone in the world seems to be on their holidays and those of us who are able to take one outside of the school holidays feel a bit left out. So, a couple of nights away in a country house hotel in south west Wales have been booked, so that’s something to look forward to. Will try to get to Tenby for the first time ever – it looks really nice – provided we can avoid the crowds.

A birthday has come and gone since my last update too. It’s a bit upsetting when you have received a letter from a pension company saying that you have to decide what to do with your pension fund at your birthday. Nothing makes you feel quite as old as when you have to deal with a pension. Still, it wasn’t a very large pot, so I took the tax free lump sum of 25% and we will have the bathroom refurbished with that money (if we can ever find someone to do the work for us…). It’s also been my Dad’s 80’th birthday this month, so I went to visit him and my Mum and take them for lunch a couple of Sundays ago, which was nice.

Health-wise, things are fine. I am pleased that I decided not to have the CT scan this Christmas coming. It’s one less stress-inducing event that I can probably do without. I attended a meeting of the National Cancer Research Institute consumer forum last month and it will be good to get into that more deeply as the autumn comes along. I have a two-day training session to look forward to in September, which will help a great deal. Unfortunately, I found that the other lymphoma consumer on the panel, a man with whom I have exchanged a couple of emails and met for the first time at that recent meeting, died unexpectedly this week. That’s a bit of a shock as he seemed perfectly well when I met him and he was good company in the workshop sessions. I know that he will be missed by the NCRI. Let’s hope that I can take up the baton he has left behind.

I have also attended two fundraising events on behalf of Bloodwise. Firstly I shook a bucket (without shaking it) at Aldi in Neston and raised £35 in two hours. Takings are down over the year without a doubt. Last weekend I helped out at the Strawberry Tea, organised in a house and garden also on the Wirral. Again, takings on a like for like basis were down again here too. All a bit disappointing, but it was a good afternoon and lots of people enjoyed their scones and strawberries. And lots of tea.

This weekend coming will mark the first anniversary of us moving to this bungalow. Blog posts previously have charted our progress in doing the place up and we are definitely coming to the end of the interior now. I mentioned a while back that we had ordered a new front door. This was delivered and installed a few days before we went to Orkney and has made a huge difference to the look of the bungie from outside and brought loads more light inside.

Once the bathroom is done, I think I will gather a collection of before and after photographs into an album, to remind us of the hard work and time that has been put into transforming that old lady’s bungalow into our home.

So, as the summer, which really only lasted two days in July this year starts to turn to autumn (14C on the way home this afternoon), thoughts turn to Goodwood Revival in September and the Leica One Challenge in Lisbon in October. These things come around so quickly…